David Lee

David Lee has published over two dozen books and his awards include the Western States Book Award, Mountain and Plains States Booksellers Award, Elkhorn Poetry Prize and Utah Book Awards. He was named the First Poet Laureate of Utah and held that position for a six-year term. In 2001 he was Finalist-runner-up for the position of United States Poet Laureate. He has received multiple fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and National Endowment for the Humanities. He has received multiple nominations for the National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize.

Lee held classes at Southern Utah University for thirty two years and chaired the Department of Language, Literature, and Humanities for twenty five of those years. He received every teaching award given by the university, including being named Professor of the Year on three separate occasions. He is an Emeritus Professor of English at that institution. He was the fifth academic in Utah to be named a Lifetime Fellow by the Utah Council of Arts and Sciences and received the Utah Governor’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in both the Arts and Humanities.

Retired, Lee splits his time between Boulder, Utah; Mesquite, Nevada; Silver City, Nevada; Seaside, Oregon; the Cascade River, Washington; and Benalmadena, Espana. His most recent book is Mine Tailings published by 5 Sisters Press. He reads, scribbles and wanders available graveled roads and trails, all at about the same rate and pace.



  • Shadow Weaver, Brooding Heron Press, 1978
  • The Porcine Legacy, Copper Canyon Press, 1979
  • Driving and Drinking, Copper Canyon Press, 1982
  • The Porcine Canticles, Copper Canyon Press, 1984
  • Day’s Work, Copper Canyon Press, 1990
  • Paragonah Canyon, Autumn, Brooding Heron Press, 1990
  • My Town, Copper Canyon Press, 1995
  • Covenants (with William Kloefkorn), Spoon River Poetry Press,1996
  • Wayburne Pig, Brooding Heron Press, 1997
  • The Fish, Wood Works Press, 1997
  • A Legacy of Shadows: Selected Poems, Copper Canyon Press, 1999
  • News From Down to the Café, New Poems, Copper Canyon Press, 1999
  • The Twenty one Gun Salute, Grey Spider Press, 1999
  • Incident at Thompson Slough, Wood Works Press, 2002
  • So Quietly the Earth, Copper Canyon Press, 2004
  • Stone Wind Water, Black Rock Press, 2010
  • In a House Made of Time (with William Kloefkorn), Logan House Press, 2010
  • Texas Wild Flowers, Wood Works Press, 2011
  • Moments of Delicate Balance (with William Kloefkorn), Wings Press, 2011
  • Last Call, Wings Press, 2014
  • Bluebonnets, Firewheels, and Brown-Eyed Susans: New and Used Poems, Wings Press, 2017
  • Mine Tailings, 5 Sisters Press, 2019
  • The Allegory of Perfection, a Triptych, Sugar House Press, 2019